Posted by: bobby363 | July 4, 2018

2018 Alabama Manufacturer Shootout – Report

The 2018 Alabama Manufacturer Shootout is always a highly anticipated race known for its awesome reddish clay surface, technical track layouts, and fun atmosphere. Located in Cullman, Alabama, the AMS is now in its 9th year and organized by RaceTime Entertainment, who hosts some of the biggest nitro races on US soil like PNB and Wicked Weekend. The layout was extremely fun. There was a lot of challenging elements including a cross-over to quad jump that was extremely difficult with a capital E. The step-up jumps were perfect and required precision throttle control to not overshoot. The double drop downs to chicane added fitness and accuracy that made for a wonderful challenge. Overall, the layout was unique and definitely fun. For those who like challenge and difficult tracks, this one was definitely for you.

During the 30-minute A-Main in the Pro Nitro Buggy class, TQ Ryan Maifield (Mugen) and Team Associated’s Spencer Rivkin broke away from the pack making it a 2-car race for the lead. During their first pitstop, Maifield executed a perfect pit while Rivkin had a small issue on the in-lap. This gave Maifield a nice 3-second cushion to 2nd and the comfort to drive at his own pace and slowly pull away from his competitors. Team Associated’s Ryan Cavalieri put in a solid last half of the race to move his way up the field to finish 2nd. Kyosho’s Jared Tebo finished 3rd with Rivkin 4th. Making the podium and showcasing his super speed, TLR’s Tyler Jones took the final spot on the 5-man podium.

It was the usual suspects making the 5-man podium in Pro E-Buggy with Mugen’s Ryan Maifield taking the win with his efforts from A1 setting the fastest time from either of the double mains. All of the electric classes ran a double A format with the fastest time from either run counting for each driver’s overall. Kyosho’s Jared Tebo had a shot at the overall as he was the winner of A2, but a small, late-race mistake saw his time slip below Maifield’s A1 time by .9 seconds. Team Associated’s Ryan Cavalieri finished out in 3rd with Tekno’s Joe Bornhorst 4th and AE’s Spencer Rivkin rounding out the top 5.

It was a tremendous effort from Tekno’s Joe Bornhorst as he was able to take the Pro Nitro Truggy win from 2nd on the grid. Kyosho’s Jared Tebo put himself 2nd on the podium showing his competitive speed once again. Tekno’s Ryan Lutz placed himself 3rd after a close battle with Tebo. HB Racing’s Cole Ogden took home 4th and TLR’s Tyler Jones making another top 5 with a 5th place finish. Unfortunately for the AE team, Spencer Rivkin retired early from a broken servo and Ryan Cavalieri suffered from a rear driveshaft failure.

What an amazing drive by Austin Hughes, who bumped up from the B-Main to take the win in 4×4 SCT. Tyler Heavner finished 2nd, Randall Carte Jr. 3rd, Jessee Davis 4th, and Britt Roshon 5th.

It was a great race in the 15 and Under nitro buggy class with TLR’s Mason Fuller taking a terrific comeback win. Mason had a great battle with Serpent’s Kyle Phillips, but unfortunately, Phillips suffered a mechanical and then Mason suffered a flameout while in the lead. Mason was able to get back on the track in 3rd and powered his way to the front and finished 1st. HB Racing’s Kody Watson took 2nd, Chase Rhinerson 3rd, Kalob Johnstone 4th, and LJ Davis 5th.

It was Gary Studt who took the win in 40+ Nitro Buggy in front of Jimbo Kvidera with Kevin Tomsovic 3rd, Mike Sontag 4th and Eddie Donaldson 5th.

It was a good battle in the 40+ E-Buggy class with TJ Bradley winning the overall, Mark Moon 2nd, Gary Studt 3rd, Thomas Rogers 4th, and Brian Looper 5th.

There were some fresh faces in the Sportsman E-Buggy class with Justin Vaughn taking the win, young Miss Bella took home 2nd, Mark Thomas 3rd, Paul Rodman 4th, and Trevor Parrish 5th.

Phill Lorio took the win in the Sportsman Nitro Buggy class with Jack Pott 2nd, Phillip Stevens 3rd, Ryan McClain 4th, and Casey Summers 5th.

In Sportsman Nitro Truggy once again, it was Phill Lorio taking his 2nd win, but this time in the Sportsman Nitro Truggy class. Ever Lobos finished 2nd, Tim Clapper 3rd, Nathan Rogers 4th, and Ryan McClain 5th.

TLR’s Brad Rippee showed some speed in the E-Truggy class taking the win with Tekno’s Patrick Rossiter 2nd, Jonathon Reeves 3rd, Tater Sontag 4th, and Izriah Osborne 5th.

In Open E-Buggy Chris Rakus was on fire this weekend taking 3 wins in 3 classes. With a stellar time in A2, Rakus was able to win by tie-breaker of AJ Marasco. Hal Martin finished 3rd, Tater Sontag 4th, and Jordan Singletary 5th.

The Open Nitro Buggy class saw Chris Rakus take a commanding win with Gary Studt 2nd, Jeremy Reid 3rd, Ben Pinover 4th, and Bobby Moore 5th.

It was Chris Rakus sweeping the open classes at AMS 9.0. Taking his 3rd win of the weekend, Chris won the Open Truggy class with Gary Studt 2nd, Michael Percell 3rd, Cole Whitehead 4th, and Brad Collins 5th.

Source: JConcepts []

via Red RC – All feeds


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: